Caloundra longboard surfers club

Fun in the Sun 2011

The Caloundra Malibu Club’s 11th annual Fun in the Sun Teams Challenge was held on the 15th and 16th of October at Ann St, Currimundi.

This year’s event attracted 18 teams representing clubs from Bundaberg, Noosa and Alex Heads and major sponsors Cafe by the Beach and SLS surfboards.

The unique five-person teams format includes a junior, a woman, O45, open and old Mal surfer accumulating points over three rounds.

The surf and weather this year was the typical October mixed bag. The 4am radar picture told a sorry tale, with a strong storm front stretching from the coast to Toowoomba. The resilient set-up crew from the host club managed to keep their sense of humour through the morning storm. Right on time the event started under clearing skies. The Saturday surf unfortunately deteriorating to an unrideable northerly chop by late morning, causing an early halt. Two rounds were completed with the cream rising to the top of the leader’s board.

Sunday dawned with clear skies, light offshore breezes and nice beachies to start with before the contest was moved to the Ann St. break. The competitors were revelling in the glassy conditions with high scoring heats the order of the day.

The top eight teams after the three rounds battled out the A and B finals.


A Final Results:-

1st Cafe by the Beach: Dave Rayner, Beth Palmer, Nic Jones, Pat O’Leary and Gareth Donovan

2nd Swell Nuts: Justin Healey, Kathryn Hughes, Glenn Richards, Steve and Joel Miller

3rd Pacifique Horrific: Owen Whately, Rochelle, Keith Drinkwater, Riley and Ethan Moller

4th Alex Malibu Club 3: Tynan Williams, Lisa Down, Scott Williams, Paul Tuckett and Peter Stock

Congratulations to Cafe by the Beach for winning their first Fun in the Sun title after featuring in every A final since the competition started in 2001. Captain Dave has searched the world for a winning combination and finally he’s found some gun surfers who produced on the day.

The standard of surfing throughout the 50 min final was outstanding.


B Final Results:-

1st El Captain Crew

2nd SLS Surfboards

3rd Alex Malibu Club 2

4th Noosa Malibu Club

The teams in the B final produced a nail-biting contest with very few points separating the four teams.

Caloundra’s El Captain Crew managing to hold off SLS Surfboards and visiting teams from Alex and Noosa Malibu clubs.

The enthusiasm for this competition grows each year. Congratulations to the fine efforts put in by all the competitors, their families and supporters, volunteers and the sponsors. Special thanks to all our loyal sponsors. Everybody had a great weekend and we look forward to next year’s contest.


John Marsh

Comments are closed.